Second to last Monday until Spring Break!

Wow was it hard to get up this morning.  That was partially my fault for not getting to bed until about 10:45 or so (stayed up too late LOSING Trivial Pursuit… now hubbie thinks he’s a GENIUS!  So far we’ve each won once… the tie breaker is pending).  I had one of my typical breakfasts. 

Breakfast

That’s a cup of Kashi Puffed Cereal with some different kinds of dried fruit in it (strawberry, blueberry, mango, and banana this morning) and some Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze. Then there’s a Morning Star Breakfast Sausage Link and my patented Muffomelette.  I don’t have much time in the morning so I have to have quick, simple breakfasts ready to go.  I measure out my cereal with dried fruit the night before so I just have to pour it in the bowl and I make a batch of 12 muffomelettes every few weekends and freeze them so all I have to do is put them in the fridge to defrost overnight and then zap it in the microwave in the morning!  I’ve been trying to incorporate protein into my breakfast and the muffomelette and sausage are evidence of that.  This is a plain muffomelette: 1/2 egg white, 1/2 egg substitute, salt, pepper, and mozzarella.  Sometimes I chop up some veggies and mix those in as well, but for whatever reason, the plain cheesey/egg mix has been doing it for me lately!  The whole meal clocks in at around 180 calories.

Since I eat lunch at school and don’t want to lug my camera back and forth I’ll have to post those from the morning before I pack it up.  I was rushed to pack lunch after Trivial Pursuit last night, so it’s not that fun:

dsc01985

That’s my morning snack of Cheerios (some of the berries were supposed to be for that too, but I wasn’t that hungry or motivated enough to walk down to the fridge to get them).  Then for lunch I had a can of Campbell’s Select Harvest Light Southwestern Style Vegetable soup, a stick of Weight Watchers string cheese, a few of the berries (I saved the rest for after my last class and during the drive home) and a Strawberry Jell-o.  Between my morning snack and lunch I think that’s about 275 calories total.

When I got home I ran around doing a few chores for about 45 minutes.  I folded two loads of laundry and picked up the basement (ours is finished and our main living room is down there so it gets messy) so I could run Roomba (if you haven’t heard of these little robot vacuum cleaners they are great!  He’s down there working away as I type this!).  Then I made my bowl of oatmeal.  I needed a more substantial snack because I have a 5 mile run to get through this evening. 

dsc01988

I like my oatmeal more watery and mushy than most people.  This particular bowl had 1/2 c. of old fashioned oats, <1.5 c. water, 1/4 c. of frozen blueberries and raspberries (I use frozen fruit in my oatmeal… it turns it crazy colors but it also cools it down for me!!), 1 tsp. of walnuts, and 1 tsp. of flax. ~ 180 calories

Now I’m getting ready to head down to the treadmill to get in my 5 mile run.  One of the many things I’d like to post on this blog is my exercise/training schedule.  I’ll get to it eventually.  Right now work is taking up the bulk of my spare time with the end of the quarter coming up this week.  All my kids are FINALLY turning in their work (go figure) which means I have STACKS of grading to do!  Not the best time to start a blog, huh?  Oh well.  I’ve realized that I may have to just post once in the evenings if things start getting too busy for me in the afternoons.  We’ll see.  I think we’re going to attempt to use some of that shredded chicken I put in enchilada sauce for some chicken tacos for dinner.  I’ll let you know how it goes!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

