I tried something new today!

I stayed up WAY too late last night grading (it seems like I’ve said that a lot lately) so I struggled getting out of bed this morning, but here’s what I made to perk myself up:

dsc02002

2 pieces of Healthy Life WW Toast with sugar free orange marmalade on top, a Morning Star Breakfast Sausage Link and an egg white/mozzarella muffomelette.

I knew I’d be staying after school for a bit today to get some work done (I usually do that on Tuesdays since I don’t have runs scheduled those days), so I packed a morning snack (cheerios and blueberries), lunch (leftover shredded chicken in enchilada sauce, a WW tortilla, leftover random steamed veggies, and Jell-o) and a small afternoon snack (clementine and Weight Watchers String Cheese)

dsc01999

I got home around 4:30 and spent about a half hour checking my email and eating my pre-workout snack (that’s right… 2 afternoon snacks!): Light Blueberry yogurt (it’s under there somewhere), with some Kashi Puffed Cereal, Kashi GoLean Crunch Cereal, chopped frozen strawberries, walnuts, and flax.

dsc02006

Then I dragged myself off the couch to make the hubbie a quick spaghetti dinner since he had to leave for work earlier than usual and wouldn’t be able to come home for dinner.  That’s when the something new came in: TOFU!  I’ve never tried it before and figured since the hubbie was out I could feel free to experiment sans whining sounds coming from him (he’s not as enthusiastic about trying new, healthier things).  So I sliced it up and blotted it per advice I found on the internet and tried 4 different marinades: Walden Farms Calorie Free BBQ Sauce, Frank’s Buffalo Sauce, Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ Sauce, and a mix of various rub recipes found on the internet (ginger, sesame oil, brown sugar, soy sauce… it was very similar to what I’ve read about from Gliding Calm).  Here’s the marinating stage:

dsc02010

While they sat in the fridge I did my first session of Level 2 of Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred Video.  I think my shoulders are going to be sore tomorrow… it seemed like every other exercise had me in a plank position!  When I was done with that I came back upstairs and popped the tofu in the oven.  The results:

dsc02013

dsc02011

 

 

 

 

 

I like the buffalo sauce and the Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ ones the best, but wish I’d taken the time to heat up some extra sauce to drizzle over the top of them post baking.  Overall, though, TOFU=GOOD.  I just need to experiment with it a bit more to get it completely right, but the potential is DEFINITELY there.  I liked that baking gave it a crispy outside… the texture almost reminded me of fish (crispy outside, soft inside) and surprisingly, didn’t bother me at all (I’m a BIG texture person and I’d heard people complain about that when it came to tofu).  Here’s the rest of the meal: spinach salad, hamburger bun ‘garlic toast’, a baked red potato, and half a bag of frozen PictSweet Asian Style Veggies. 

dsc02015

Last but not least, I had a TON of calories leftover (probably due to the low-cal tofu at dinner), so I got to splurge a little tonight.  I had a banana drizzled with peanut butter and nutella, some Cookie Crisp cereal, and (here’s the BIG splurge) a Reese’s Peanut Butter Heart. 

dsc02017

 dsc02018

 

 

 

 

So I’m on a sugar high like no other right now!  Time to burn off that energy grading and prepping stuff for tomorrow!  Good night!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

