Donut Day, Food Day, but now it’s WEEKEND!!

It’s been a long but good day!  Food-wise it started off pretty simple with a couple pieces of Healthy Life WW bread with some Sugar Free Smuckers Strawberry preserves on top, an egg white/mozzarella muffomelette, and a Morning Star Breakfast Sausage. 

dsc02056

I wanted to keep breakfast kind of simple because of the food orgy that awaited me at work today!  First Friday of the month is always donut day (with HUGE make-you-drool-just-thinkin’-about-them chocolate long johns). I’m proud to say I abstained with little problem because I arrived only about 5 minutes before we had to be at our first of 5 morning meetings.  By the time lunch hit about 11 or so, I was hungry and there was SO much delicious, yet VERY high-calorie food available.  I brought some of my own veggies with me along with some tzatziki, strawberries, and jello.  I of course had a serving of my dish (modified from Vegetarian Times.com): Picnic Caviar.  It turned out really well!  Everyone seemed to enjoy it!  I also had small samples of a few types of the dips out there (I CANNOT pass up quesodarn it), but overall didn’t do too bad.  My cucumbers/green bell peppers/snap peas with tzatziki really filled me up! I didn’t even end up eating my pretzels…

dsc02052

dsc02053

 

 

 

 

 

We had the afternoon open to finish up 3rd quarter grades, and that’s what I did!  I actually accomplished everything I set out to accomplish at work this afternoon (this rarely happens as I almost ALWAYS set too huge of goals), so I rewarded myself by not bringing home ANY work this weekend!  YAY!  As soon as I got home I had a bowl of oatmeal with frozen wild blueberries and raspberries mixed in, before taking a quick power nap to gear up for my run.  It was in the upper 70s here today, so moved up my long run to today so I could do it partially outside (11.25 miles is just TOO long to be on my treadmill).  The run went really well.  I snacked on some frozen grapes for the last half of my run.  WOW were they great and refreshing as I was sweating it out on the treadmill! 

dsc02057

dsc02058

 

 

 

 

 

Right after my run I hit the shower and made a quick dinner.  I was exhausted from the run, so we had a frozen meal: Stouffers Easy Express Rigatoni and Chicken.  I know it’s not the healthiest, most natural thing out there, but it cooks in the microwave in 10 minutes!  You can’t beat that!  I bulked up my bowl with some frozen veggies (Birdseye Broccoli Stir Fry I believe), and of course paired it with a spinach salad and “garlic toast”.  I was starving after my run so it really hit the spot!

dsc02059

Night time snacks were pretty simple as well: vanilla yogurt with crunched up Cookie Crisp and Heath Toffee Bits mixed in and later on a Breyers No Sugar Added Vanilla Ice Cream Cone. 

dsc02060

dsc02061

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m really looking forward to getting to work on this page this weekend… I have so much I want to do with it and just haven’t yet had the time!

Goals for the page (not just for this weekend, but in general):

-post workout/run schedule

-expand about me page… more about how I’m working to shed the last few pounds

-begin building recipes page

-on daily posts: decide if I want to post calorie counts consistently, figure out standardized way to post workouts

That’s all I can think of for now, but I wanted to document my plans somewhere so I could stick to them.  Tomorrow the hubbie is off work!  I plan to sleep in, maybe do a little work on the blog, maybe try a new recipe (I gotta do something with my oranges.. maybe a muffin of some kind…, I want to try making my own hummus, I’m also wanting to try creating my own almond butter…), rake up the spikey balls in the back yard (the poor poodles can barely walk without hitting a stupid sweet gum ball from our HUGE tree), and I have to make up my run from Wednesday (4.75 miles).  In the evening we may get a chance to go out with a couple of friends, but if not we plan to stay home and partake in a few drinks and a little drunken Wii playing (it sounds WAY nerdy… and don’t get me wrong, it is!  But don’t knock it until you’ve tried it!).  It’s been a while since we’ve been able to kick back with a few beers and be silly for a night!  Welcome to weekend and have a good night!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

