I *heart* Spring Break!

AAhhhh…. Spring Break!  Not just Spring Break, but Spring Break with temperatures in the 60s!  Every window in my house was open today!  It was GREAT!  I spent the morning reading (I’ve been skimming SuperFoods HealthStyle by Pratt and Matthews… interesting stuff!), paying bills, doing laundry, creating a recipe for dinner, and generally goofing around on the internet.  Oh, and I had a new breakfast item courtesy of Fitnessista: a Breakfast Cookie!

 dsc02168

dsc02170

 

 

 

 

 

Now I know it’s not much to look at, but it was surprisingly sweet, chewy, and delicious.  I liked it cold, but also wonder how it would taste after zapping it in the microwave for a bit.  I made mine SLIGHTLY different… I didn’t use protein powder as I usually don’t have a problem meeting my protein quota for the day and didn’t need the extra calories!  Here’s what I did : 1/3 c. oats (a mix of old-fashioned AND quick cooking oats), 1/2 TBS Unsweetened Cocoa Powder, 2 packets of Truvia Sweetener, 1 TBS homemade almond butter.  After smashing that together I added 1/8 c. of Unsweetened Original Almond Breeze (although if I’d had chocolate open, I wonder how that would’ve changed the taste…), then I smashed it out on the plate and refrigerated it overnight as instructed.  I was impressed and really like it paired with the sliced strawberries.  I know mix-ins could really make it something special… mini chocolate chips… toffee bits… the possibilities are endless, but they’d all add calories as well, so that has to be considered.  All in all, it was pretty filling for only 185 calories!  I will definitely be making it again!

Lunch was fun too… random, but fun!  I carmelized some onions with a bit of garlic and added some mushrooms to the mix.  I put all that on a piece of toast and topped with a slice of swiss cheese for a pseudo-philly-cheese-open-faced sandwich.  I also had a tiny baked sweet potato, some cucumber slices with Tribe Roasted Garlic Hummus, and some Jello.  It was a REALLY good, filling lunch for not a lot calorie-wise!  I love lunches like that!

 dsc02172

dsc02173dsc02174

 

After lunch I went to work on my spring cleaning.  I wasn’t feeling very motivated, so I did something productive that wasn’t the something productive I SHOULD have done.  I cleaned my spare bedroom.  I did the windows, mopped the floor, the works… but of all the rooms I should have done, that should have been last.  Oh well.  I wanted to squeeze in a nap with the windows open (I LOVE napping with the windows open and a breeze blowing through), so I needed to pick an easy room to clean.  After my quick nap I refueled with some oatmeal with Dole Frozen Wild Blueberries mixed in and then headed out with the hubbie for a 5 mile run.

 dsc02175

When we got home I got started on that dinner recipe I mentioned early.  I made a veggie/sausage/pasta toss using Trader Joe’s Sun-dried Tomato Chicken Sausage, a bell pepper/onion frozen stir-fry bag, roasted grape tomatoes, pasta, olive oil and garlic.  It turned out really well (recipe will be posted soon!)!  I of course had a spinach salad and garlic toast with mine!

 dsc02177

dsc02176

 

 

 

 

 

My evening snacks weren’t nearly as exciting.  I had some Blue Bunny Key Lime yogurt with some Kashi Puffed mixed in for crunch, a fruit bowl of fresh blueberries, strawberries, and kiwi.  And of course, I had to finish up the night with some Breyer’s No Sugar Added Vanilla Ice Cream topped with homemade almond butter.

 dsc02179

dsc02133

 

 

 

 

 

I think I may head out to the gym first thing tomorrow.  They have a kick boxing class at 8:30 that I’d like to try, since, ya know, I’m not WORKING or anything!! 🙂  Gosh it feels good saying that!  Better get to bed soon then!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

