Happy St. Patty’s Day!

Well, today was another long, but good day, full of spring break fun!  I started my day by heading out the door early and catching the 8:30 a.m. Kickboxing class at my gym.  I was disappointed, however, when the instructor decided that she wanted to do only a half hour of kickboxing and then switch to pilates (I’m not a big fan of pilates).  Oh well.  It was a change of pace for me either way! On my way to the gym I had an apple with some homemade almond butter on top.  It was just the right amount of food to fuel my workout but not make me sick!  🙂

 dsc02181

After the gym I did a quick grocery run for some produce.  LOTS of fresh veggies were on sale so I stocked up with a plan in mind: grilled veggies!  When I got home I went out to fire up the grill (what better way to enjoy the uncharacteristically warm weather?), but the grill wouldn’t start.  After about 45 minutes of fiddling and consulting the grill manufacturer’s website, I determined my push button ignitor isn’t working for some reason, but it didn’t matter because I could still get it going using a lighter.   So I fired it up and loaded on the veggies.  Take a look at the haul:

 dsc02182

dsc02183

 

 

 

 

 

Mushrooms, onions, green beans, zucchini, yellow summer squash, tomatoes, bell peppers of all colors, and asparagus.  It smelled SO good!  I also threw on one of the leftover TJ’s Sun-dried Tomato Chicken Sausages from last night.  After grilling all the veg, I brought it inside and chopped it all into bite sized pieces and piled it all into a massive bowl.  I’ll be eating grilled veggies all week long now!!  Before shoving the bowl in the fridge, I scooped out a couple  of cups, chopped up that sausage I mentioned earlier, and mixed it all into a nice bowl for lunch!  MMMmmm!!

 After lunch I piddled around the house for a while… checking email, playing with the dogs… generally wasting time until I decided to use up two VERY brown bananas that were sitting on my counter by baking some muffins.  I added blueberries to a few of them and strawberries to a few others.  They turned out OK.  I wasn’t crazy-impressed, but I’ll eat ’em!  At least I used up the bananas!

 dsc02185

After having my fun in the kitchen I decided I actually needed to be productive spring cleaning-wise… so I folded a load of laundry really quick and then went to work on our bedroom.  UGH!  It was a mess!  I put away my clean clothes (I’m REALLY bad about doing that… my closet constantly looks like it’s vomiting clothing out about 3 feet into the room!), dusted the furniture, cleaned the windows, dusted the ceiling fan (we’ll need it before you know it!), changed our sheets and the dogs’ bed towels, vacuumed and mopped!  I worked for about an hour and a half only stopping for an oats break! It was a boring mix… just some cinnamon and AB today!

 dsc02186

While I let the floor dry I started dinner.  Tonight was a hodge-podge of leftovers and one new recipe: salmon patties.  I pulled a recipe off of SparkRecipes… it was OK.  The hubbie said they were EXACTLY like his mom made when he was a kid.  I thought they needed some more seasonings.  I didn’t tweak the recipe at all this time since it was my first experience making salmon patties, but next time, I’ll fiddle with the spices and if it turns out good, I’ll post MY version of the recipe.  🙂  Besides the usual salad and garlic toast I had 1 salmon patty, some leftover TJ Chicken Sausage/Veggie Pasta from last night and some of those WONDERFUL grilled veggies from earlier in the day.

 dsc02187

After dinner I did about a half hour or so more work to put the bedroom back together before having part of my nightly snack: another fruit bowl (this time watermelon, banana, strawberries, blueberries) and a banana muffin from earlier.  These snacks were consumed while enjoying an episode of Inside the Actor’s Studio featuring Conan O’Brian.  Conan cracks me up!

dsc02189

dsc02193

 

 

 

 

 

And now, as I type, I’m digging into a randomly composed sundae of Breyers No Sugar Added Vanilla Ice Cream topped with Smucker’s caramel syrup, crunched up Mini Chocolate Teddy Grahams, and a few M&Ms. 

dsc02195

MMMmmm!  Good night!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

