A lazy day at home…

My morning was pretty typical.  Checking email, catching up on blogs, and trying a new recipe!  I tried Kath’s Pumpkin Oatmeal Pancake:

 dsc02210

dsc02211

 

 

 

 

 

It was pretty good.  I topped it with some Sugar Free Smucker’s Breakfast Syrup and had a big bowl of fruit on the side (blueberries, strawberries, and kiwi).  It kept me full through my morning cleaning.  I finished picking up the kitchen, then the dining room (my kitchen table loves to collect junk!), and finally my living room.  While I still haven’t deep cleaned any of the three, I did vacuum and everything looks a lot better.  I’d still like to do the windows in each of them, dust, and mop the floors, but I’m beginning to think there may not be enough hours of Spring Break left to do all of  those things AND deal with the disaster area that is my basement AND still sit on my butt a fair amount of time 🙂  Time will tell I guess.

I squeezed in the straightening and vacuuming this morning because my mom and a family friend dropped by this afternoon.  I was just putting the finishing touches on lunch as they arrived.  First I made a grilled cheese sandwich with american cheese, swiss cheese, tomatoes, and onions.

 dsc02212

dsc02213

 

 

 

 

 

 

dsc02214

Also on the plate was some Tribe Sweet Red Pepper hummus and cucumbers/bell peppers, and a jello for dessert. 

After my mom left, I loafed around a while… did some reading… and decided I finally needed to do some exercise for the day.  I didn’t feel like going to the gym and the thought of doing 30 Day Shred with my arms STILL aching from Tuesday’s surprise Pilates made me want to cry, so instead, I did a hodge podge of workouts.  Oh, but first: fuel!

 dsc02215

Blueberry yogurt (it’s under there somewhere), Kashi Puffed and GoLean Crunch cereals, flax, walnuts, and chopped frozen strawberries.  YUMMY!

So, about those workouts.  I opted for 2 10 minute cardio videos I found on Sparkpeople (if I haven’t mentioned it before… I *heart* sparkpeople… very VERY MUCH!).  Then, I tried something I’ve only done a few times: yoga.  I’ve never been head over heels for yoga, it’s always just been kind of OK for me.  I decided to explore yogadownload.com as I’ve read so many good things about it on other blogs.  They have several free classes available, and I liked that they were only 20 minutes!  I selected the Gentle Hatha Yoga #1 Class.  Usually I work out in my basement (there’s more room and I feel free to jump around without shaking the house… not that I’m fat… but intense cardio is… well… intense!), but since this was yoga (and less jumping) I brought my nice cushy mat (Thanks for that Mom!) up into my nice, warm, sunny living room.  Aside from when I had two curious poodles in my face, I really enjoyed myself.  I could see making this a once or twice a week thing possibly!  I definitely appreciated the quality of the mp3… calming music, great explanations.  I LOVED listening and not having to watch a video on TV. 

After yoga it was time to start dinner and that meant NEW RECIPE TIME!  I tried out The Hungry Yogini’s Spicy Peanut Noodle Bowl with Broccoli and Tofu.  I really liked it.  It was good and spicy!  It’s a good thing I liked it too b/c I have LOTS of leftovers (the hubbie isn’t brave enough to try tofu yet and isn’t THAT big of a fan of asian cuisine, so he just had spaghetti).  I wonder if the spicy noodles would freeze well… any ideas?

 dsc02218

dsc02219

 

 

 

 

 

Along with the new dish I had a spinach salad and a Kahini Vegetable Egg Roll (they microwave in a couple of minutes and are only 70 calories!).  It was all delicious.  After dinner I watched a little March Madness and munched on a pretty substantial snack plate:

 

MMMmmm... Almond Butter-y Apple Goodness!

MMMmmm... Almond Butter-y Apple Goodness!

 dsc02220

 

 

 

 

 

 

Apple with homemade AB, cookie crisp, and a banana muffin from the other day.  I also worked on the blog a bit… I finally added to my blogroll to include everything I get sent to my GoogleReader (I LOVE that thing!) and I worked a bit on the fitness section.  It’s still not completely where I want it to be, but at least there’s content there now!

To wrap up the evening… get ready for a shock… I did NOT have ice cream.  I had a Hungry Girl Peanut Butter Milkshake!

 dsc02225

Along with a bunch of ice I used Sugar Free Chocolate Jello, 1 TBS. reduced fat peanut butter, 2 truvia packets, and 1/2 c. Unsweetened Original Almond Breeze.  It was a delicious way to wrap up the night!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A lazy day at home…

  1. Yay! I’m glad you liked my recipe! Not sure if it would freeze well but it’s really good as a cold salad the next day!

Leave a Reply

