Mondays…

Ugh… somebody had a case of the mondays today and that somebody was ME!  I didn’t sleep well at all last night because I was thinking about everything I DIDN’T get done over break that I needed to get done (both at home and for work)… then I thought about how crazy the next few weeks will be because of that.  I just couldn’t shut my brain off!  Then, I got up extra early because I needed to get to school early and check on my classroom (more on that in a bit), but before I left I at a bowl of Kashi Puffed Cereal topped with plain yogurt and strawberries and a Morning Star Breakfast Sausage Link.

 dsc02261

Here’s a pic of all the food packed for work today…

dsc02259

From left to right: Morning Snack = cheerios; Lunch = WW tortilla with chopped tomatoes/garlic/onions/spinach and a Laughing Cow Cheese Wedge, leftover grilled veggies, cucumber slices with Sweet Bell Pepper Hummus, Jello; After School Snack: Apple with homemade AB.

Lots of food because I knew it’d be a long day.  I got to school early because I was supposed to have  a Promethean Board installed in my classroom over break (for those who don’t know, it’s basically a huge digitalized chalk board… it’s an AWESOME piece of technology!)… which was good news because it’ll be SO cool to use.  It’s also a stress factor for me because since I’ve been given this great piece of equipment, I feel like I need to use it to it’s full potential, but it’s SO complicated to learn how to use… and like I had spare time to begin with!  Anyway, I wanted to get to school early to check on the state of my room… good news: board WAS installed… bad news: when they refinished the wall it made a TON of drywall dust and they didn’t clean ANY of it up!  So I spent every free moment today (and there aren’t many when you’re teaching) wiping down everything on/near my desk instead of installing the new promethean board software and figuring that thing out.  Never fear, though, I decided to stay after school to try out my new toy.  It did NOT go well.  After trying to upload the software for 20 minutes, I realized the disc they left for me was for MAC computers… and as the commercial says ‘I’m a PC’.  So BIG waste of time there (hopefully I’ll get the right disc tomorrow).  So then I decided to actually plug the board into my computer… also did NOT go well.  Turns out that they gave me the shortest cords imaginable so I spent my afternoon (2 hours mind you) NOT planning, NOT entering grades, NOT calling parents (all of which are things I need to do… badly!), but rearranging my desk and classroom so I could plug the stupid board into my computer.  UGH!  I felt like I wasted SO much time!

Needless to say, by the time I got home I wasn’t the most pleasant person to be around.  I scarfed down some oats with frozen wild blueberries and cinnamon and proceeded to sit on my butt for an hour and whine to my husband. 

dsc02239

After the oats it was run time… I did 5 miles outside and I’ll admit… it did make me feel a little better (YAY endorphins!).  We got back from our run about 6:30 or so and I decided I felt like making dinner since we’d had some Trader Joe’s Curry Chicken Fingers in the fridge forever.  I grilled them up, but was disappointed in the flavor of them. They just weren’t what I’d hoped they’d be.  I mixed the chicken with some brown rice, quinoa, some random frozen veggie odds and ends from the freezer and some spices… but it just wasn’t the most flavorful dish ever.  It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t good.  Unfortunately there were tons of leftovers, so I’m going to be eating this ‘just OK’ dish for a while. 

dsc02262

dsc02263

 

 

 

 

 

 I of course had a side salad and piece of toast with my bowl.

After dinner I caught up on my emails for the day and made up for my lame dinner with some delicious snacks:

dsc02264

dsc02236

 

 

 

 

 

 

1/2 a banana with homemade AB and a Florida orange, and finally, a microwave chocolate cake topped with AB and a scoop of Breyers No Sugar Added Vanilla Ice Cream.

The plan is to stay after school AGAIN tomorrow.. hopefully it’ll be more productive than today was!  I’m out for the night!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

