Fry-day!

Today has been a good day food-wise (and rest of the world-wise… you can’t go wrong on a Friday!).  I started my day by trying a new breakfast food I’d read a bit about… a simplified version of muesli!

 dsc02292

dsc02294

 

 

 

 

 

Last night I mixed 1/3 c. oats, 1/3 c. plain yogurt, 1/3 c. unsweetened original almond breeze, 1 tsp. unsweetened cocoa powder, and 1 or 2 packets of sweetener together and popped it in the fridge.  This morning I added another sweetener (still needed some more to balance out the bitter cocoa) and strawberries before I dug in.  I REALLY enjoyed this!  I definitely see it getting into the rotation more often as the weather gets warmer!  YAY for another breakfast option!

Here’s the morning snack and lunch:

 dsc02291

Cheerios, a leftover chicken/veggie kabob from Sunday (de-kabobed for ease of packing), cucumber slices with Tribe Sweet Bell Pepper Hummus, a slice of WW bread (which I toasted) and a slice of american cheese for the top (which I nuked for a toasted cheese sandwhich… kindof), and jello!

 I actually left right after school today and ran to Walmart.  Besides stocking up on a couple of items that are just always cheaper at Walmart than anywhere else, I got myself a new toy: a mandolin slicer.  It was under $10 and I bought it with the intent of using it to make oven baked french fries (hence the blog title… cheesey I know).  I was VERY excited to try it out… but that had to wait until dinner.  I had a run to do today and that meant running fuel and that means oatmeal!

 dsc02295

Pretty simple mix here… a little cinnamon, Frozen Wild Blueberries and frozen Raspberries mixed in.  After I ate my oatmeal I conked out on the couch for about a half hour before getting up and doing my 2.75 mile tempo run.  Then it was time to make dinner and play with my new toy.  Now normally slicing up a sweet potato for fries takes FOR-E-VER!  But thanks to my new best friend (i *heart* you mandolin slicer) I had 2 potatoes sliced up before my oven was even finished preheating!  Guess who’s going to be having homemade fries a LOT more often?  I’ll tell you who… this gal right here (how big of a loser am I?  A kitchen tool makes my day…)!

 dsc02296

dsc02297

 

 

 

 

 

Dinner was a Boca Spicy Chik’n Patty on WW Bun, sweet potato fries, salad, and a cup of Bear Creek Minestrone soup (a bag mix that you just add water to… but I also bulked it up with a broccoli/cauliflower/carrot frozen veggie mix).

After talking to my mom on the phone for a while, the evening snacking and blog reading commenced (another wild and crazy night for me!)

First was the predictable snack plate of apples with cinnamon and AB and Cookie Crisp Cereal… then a Banana Bread Muffin from the freezer.

 dsc02299

dsc02301

 

 

 

 

 

Finally, what’s a night without ice cream?  I’m currently sucking down this fun little treat:

 

ice cream microwave cake AB

Breyers No Sugar Added Vanilla Ice Cream and a microwave chocolate cake with AB on top.  I think I may spend some time trying to pick out a marathon training plan tonight.  Maybe listen to a Jillian Michaels Podcast.  I’ll almost certainly fall asleep by midnight… it’s been a long week!  Is it wrong that I’m SO happy to have a boring and lame quiet and relaxing Friday night at home?  Well, if it is, I don’t think I wanna be right!  Good night!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

