All about running today!

I woke up this morning and bummed around a while reading blogs, doing laundry, and eating this:

 dsc02303

dsc02302

 

 

 

 

A piece of WW toast topped with a couple slices if Oscar Mayer Shaved Ham, a microwaved egg white, and a slice of Kraft Fat Free Sharp Cheddar Cheese.  I also had a bowl of yogurt, Kashi Puffed Cereal, a kiwi, strawberries and blueberries.  It was SO fresh and delicious… you may be seeing this bowl again tomorrow!

After breakfast it was time to get down to business.  I’m 3 weeks away from my half marathon, which means I’m 3 weeks away from being finished with my current training program.  It’s high time I start looking into what I want to do next in preparation for the marathon in the fall.  So I dragged out my various marathon/running books, opened up the runnersworld and hal higdon websites and got to work trying to figure out what to do for my training.  You see, I need to have my training schedule planned out in advance… if I just let myself randomly decide what to run each week I’d get lazy (plus, I’m one of those dorky people that LOVES to plan things).  I’m a very picky runner, however, and had very specific things I was looking for in a running program: 4 days a week, longest long run of at least 24 miles, starts with about 26 miles per week (because that’s where I’ll be in a few weeks and I don’t want to backtrack!), need to be able to easily stretch it out to fill the 25 weeks I’ll have to get ready for Chicago…  basically I knew I was going to have to modify and existing plan, it was just about deciding which one (or which two to combine).  I bounced around between Higdon’s Novice and Intermediate… then runnersworld smart coach recommendations… then back to Higdon… finally, after staring at Higdon’s programs long enough, I figured out his pattern for increasing mileage and came up with a hybrid of his 2 novice programs that meets all my needs.  I’ll get it posted on my gmail calendar in the next couple of weeks so that you can go to my workout schedule and check it out if you’re interested.

So, the good news is I can check that off my to-do list.  The bad news is I messed around with it well into the afternoon.  Before I knew it, it was 1:30 before I was eating my pre-run oats!

 dsc02305

I’m really starting to LOVE mixing in half a smashed banana into my oats.  Today it was just that with frozen wild blueberries and cinnamon… but the banana flavor totally enhances the cinnamon flavor… it lingers in the background and ups the delicious-ness factor a TON!  I may have to start mashing in some banana on a regular basis and not just on long run days!

Today I had to cover 12.25 miles and it’s been raining ALL DAY, so I got to do the whole thing on my treadmill (poor thing… it got a workout today too!).  I watched a TiVoed episode of Grey’s Anatomy and this past week’s Biggest Loser and munched on some frozen grapes for fuel during the last 6 miles or so…

 dsc02306

dsc02308

 

 

 

 

 

After my run and LOTS of stretching I had  bowl of mixed berry yogurt topped with Kashi Puffed and GoLean Crunch Cereals and chopped frozen strawberries to refuel.  Then, I pulled up a new recipe to try for dinner: Lemon Chicken Rigatoni with Broccoli (courtesy of Betty Crocker online).  I of course modified it based on what we had in the house (penne instead of rigatoni, etc.) and by adding spices and whatnot to suit our tastes…. I liked it, but the hubbie “doesn’t like lemon on pasta”.  So he didn’t eat much of it.  Which means you’ll be seeing lots of this over the coming days as I consume the large amount of leftovers:

 dsc02309

dsc02310

 

 

 

 

 

I also had a spinach salad, piece of garlic toast, and a cup of leftover Minestrone from last night.  I spent the remainder of the evening showering, reading, wasting time online, doing  thinking about how I should be doing some planning for school (there’s always tomorrow… right?), and snacking on various sugar filled items to fulfill my calories needed for the day (long run days I always try to consume a few extra hundred to make up for the ton I burn… if nothing else it’s a good excuse to eat candy!):

 dsc02311

ice cream with ABdsc02313

 

 I had a small cup of Kashi Sunshine Cereal mixed with Peanut Butter Cap’n Crunch and a bit of Unsweetened Original Almond Breeze, a 100 calorie Milky Way Bar, and some Breyer’s No Sugar Added Vanilla Ice Cream topped with homemade AB (not all at once… I spread it out throughout the evening!).

On the to-do list for tomorrow… a possible trip to Target and Petco, laundry, a short yoga session, planning and grading for work, and hanging out with the hubbie!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

