Spring time snow??!?

I woke up this morning to a bit of snow coming down!!  I thought we officially started spring a week ago!  I decided to take advantage of what I hope will be the last sign of a winter morning for the season by grabbing the Sunday paper from the driveway and snuggling up under a blanket with it and a cup of tea:

 dsc02315

MMmm… Celestial Seasonings Chocolate Caramel Enchantment Chai… it’s dessert in a teacup! After reading the paper (the hubbie was still in bed), I decided to go play in the kitchen.  I got out our Belgian Waffle Iron (which we’ve used… oh probably 5 times since getting it…), dusted it off, and whipped up a batch of belgian waffles using the recipe on the side of the Bisquick Heart Smart Box (only subbing Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze for the milk, egg beaters for the egg, and applesauce for the oil).  I also whipped up some egg whites for a bit of protein…

 dsc02317

dsc02318

 

 

 

 

 

The waffles turned out great.  It really made the hubbie and I think back to our first couple years of college… our dorm cafeteria had a Belgian Waffle Maker in it and on Saturday and Sunday mornings we’d go there and they’d have the batter sitting out and waiting and we’d whip up a huge waffle for each of us.  They always had a big bowl of frozen, syrup-y strawberries to top it with too… so when I made my waffles this morning I also sliced up some frozen strawberries and mixed in a little splenda and water to make a similar mix.  It was a great way to start the day!

After our late breakfast the snow was already mostly melting so we ventured out to run a few errands.  We hit up Target (I got more Clif Z-Bars… YAY!), PetCo, and a quick stop by the grocery store (literally… we needed 2 things).  Before we knew it it was lunch time.  I made a wrap.  First I smashed some avocado and mixed it with garlic, salt, and pepper.  I spread some of that on the tortilla and topped it with tomatoes, green bell peppers, cucumbers, onions, and spinach.  I had a few pickles on the side as well as some leftover minestrone soup and some Jello for dessert.  It was a nice lunch.

 dsc02319

dsc02320

 

 

 

 

 

After lunch I spent some time going through the mail, paying bills, avoiding doing work for school… I even tried having a snack to distract me!

 dsc02321

But eventually I knew I had to get down to business.  I’d say I spent about an hour or so planning… just long enough to get enough done to keep my head above water for a few more days.  I just couldn’t bring myself to keep working so that I could actually get ahead.  The day was just going by too fast!  Before I knew it… it was time for dinner. 

 dsc02322

That’s the last of the TJ’s Curry Chicken/frozen veggies/rice mix you’ll see for a while.  I still have a few more servings in the freezer… but I’m done with it for at least a few weeks. 

Now, it’s riddle time: how do you make something like a Triple Chocolate Vitatop (something that’s totally wonderful all on it’s own) totally, insanely, 10 kinds of fabulous delicious-ness?

 dsc02327

You chop it open and smoosh some homemade AB inside!!!  I know it’s an ugly picture… but it was oh-so-yummy to consume!  Seriously, is there anything in this world that couldn’t be made better with a little homemade almond butter???  I haven’t found anything yet!

And you know my night wouldn’t be complete without some ice cream!  There’s nothing better than a sundae on a Sunday!

 dsc02329

Just a little Breyers No Sugar Added Vanilla topped with caramel syrup and M&Ms.  What can I say, some people need a warm glass of milk, I need a little ice cream to get ready for bed!  Time to get ready to face another week!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

