Ahhh!! Weekend!

I was up until 11 last night listening to Jillian Michael’s Podcasts and grading papers and I STILL didn’t get it all done so some of this breakfast ended up getting eaten at school!  I had a peach yogurt topped with Kashi Puffed and GoLean Crunch cereals and fresh and frozen blueberries and a Morning Star Breakfast Sausage Link. 

dsc02364

dsc02365

 

 

 

 

 

Lunch actually ended up being quite filling:

dsc02363

Cheerios were the mid morning snack (as usual).  Lunch was a WW Tortilla spread with some Tribe Original Hummus and stuffed with tomatoes, onions, green bell peppers and spinach (it doesn’t look like much all wrapped up… but trust me, it was DE-LISH!).  I also had some leftover Black Bean Soup that I pulled from my freezer, a couple of pickles and some Jell-o. 

Right after school I headed to the grocery store to stock up on produce for the weekend.  I picked up an artichoke for the first time, so I’ll be experimenting with that sometime soon (don’t know how just yet… but I’ll figure something out).  Once I’d unpacked everything at home, I noticed the eggplant that’s been sitting in my fridge for a week now begging me to do something with it (it was on sale and actually looked good, so I bought it with no plan in mind) so I decided to make Eggplant Parmesan (and I decided to make it ‘a la Mandy’ meaning without a recipe and hopefully fairly low calorie!).  But before I could get started on the dish, I needed a snack!

dsc02368

Chocolate-Strawberry oats!  I sure am a creature of habit!  Nothing fuels my runs (and I had a 3 mile tempo run that I squeezed in before prepping dinner today) better than oats!

OK… so on to the Eggplant Parmesan… I’ll be posting the recipe in the recipes section (whenever I FINALLY get around to putting content there… I have a stack of recipes that need to go on there… what I’m lacking is the time to do it!)  Here’s the general idea:

dsc02369

Sprinkle 1 sliced eggplant with salt and let sit on paper towels for 30 minutes to reduce bitterness.  Meanwhile, I created the breading:

dsc02370

Breading = 4 pieces of WW toast ground in the magic bullet, 1/4 c. panko bread crumbs, 1 TBS parmesan cheese, italian seasonings/salt/pepper/other spices until it tasted ‘right’.

Dip eggplant in mix of egg white and Unsweetened Original Almond Breeze and then coat with bread crumb mixture.  Place on cookie pan and bake 10 minutes per side at 425.  Results:

dsc02371

dsc02372

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Meanwhile mix up some sauce: 1 can diced tomatoes, 1 can tomato sauce, 1 small onion (diced), 2 tsp. minced garlic, basil, oregano, red pepper flakes, other random spices… simmer while eggplant bakes.

Assembly:  Layer some sauce on the bottom of the pan.  Then 1 layer of eggplant, then sauce, then cheese (mixture of mozzarella and grated parmesan/romano/asiago).  Repeat with rest of eggplant, rest of sauce, and rest of cheese.  Bake at 375- covered for 20 minutes, uncover for 5 minutes.  Results:

dsc02373

So my dinner included about 1/4 of the pan of this (only 225 calories by the way!), a spinach salad, garlic toast, and some leftover steamed veggies. 

dsc02375

dsc02376

 

 

 

 

 

Since the eggplant parmesan came out so low cal (and SO filling) I ended up with A LOT of extra calories left on my day.  Sssoooo… let the nighttime snacking begin!

dsc02378

dsc02379

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Key Lime Yogurt with Corn Flakes mixed in for crunch.  A plate of sliced apples sprinkled with cinnamon and drizzled with some homemade AB (how’d that Reese’s buttercup sneak on there??? 😉 )  And finally:

cake with choc pb

I know… same pic as last night… because it was just as yummy as last night.  A microwave chocolate cake topped with PB&Co. Dark Chocolate Dreams and some Breyers No Sugar Added Vanilla Ice Cream.

Tomorrow I’ve got a 12.5 mile run on the to-do list.  But the hubbie is off work, so I need to try and knock that out of the way in the early afternoon so we can have some fun tomorrow evening.  Well, I’m off to shower and then read my Amazing Adventures of Dietgirl book.  Most importantly, I’m NOT going to do anything for work for the first night all week!!  YAY!  Happy weekend!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

