Great food day!

It’s been a long, but productive day.  I got up this morning and immediately folded some laundry before heading out to the library (some books I’d reserved had come in and they had to be picked up by today!).  After my quick stop at the library, I headed up to my 4th grocery store in 2 days!  I stopped at 2 places yesterday looking for some frozen yeast rolls I wanted (both to serve at Easter and for an idea you’ll see later), and neither place had them.  This was my last chance… and they ended up having them!  YAY!  As I was walking up towards the registers to pay, I spotted something wonderful out of the corner of my eye that I’d never seen at my local grocery stores (this one or the three I went to yesterday):

 dsc02456

Greek yogurt!  I got hooked on this stuff last summer when the hubbie and I actually went to Greece.  When we got home from our trip, I discovered our local Wal-mart actually carried it and I was SO happy.  But after a few months, Wal-mart stopped carrying the larger size tubs and started only carrying it in the individual serving sizes with fruit mixed in and it was CRAZY expensive.  So I’ve been without my greek yogurt for about 6 months because the nearest grocery store that carries it is about a 1/2 hour away.  I switched over to just plain fat free yogurt and moved on with my life.  But today, my love came back to me! 

 dsc02457

dsc02460

 

 

 

 

 

 

Breakfast was a huge bowl of kiwi, strawberries, blackberries, Kashi Puffed and Honey Sunshine cereals, and (of course) that greek yogurt.  I had forgotten how much creamier and tastier this stuff is than regular fat free plain yogurt.  It made my morning!

After I finished drooling over my yogurt, I vacuumed the main floor of our house before taking a break to catch up on some blog reading.  Then it was time to fuel up for my run:

 dsc02462

z bar

 

 

 

 

 

I did the oats/ wheat bran mix again today with Frozen Wild Blueberries and 1/2 a smashed banana.  Also pictured is a Clif Z-Bar I ate during my run.  While I waited for my oats to digest, I used some Bisquick Heart Healthy mix to whip up some shortcakes so we can have strawberry shortcake when everyone comes over for Easter tomorrow.  You’ll see more of them later in this post.  While they cooled, I got dressed and headed out for my 13 miler.  I did 8 of the miles outside and finished up the last 5 on my treadmill in the basement while catching up on Biggest Loser (once again… I hate Ron.  In case you forgot…).  It was a really good run, but it took a lot out of me.  I refueled on MORE GREEK YOGURT!

 dsc02463

This time with a granny smith apple.  SO yummy!  While I sat on the couch munching away I suddenly felt VERY tired…  not just physically tired (I ran 13 miles… duh!  Of course I’d be that), but actually sleepy tired.  It hit me like a mach truck, like my body was telling me to give it a break.  So I obliged and took a 45 minute power nap.  When I woke up I baked up another dessert for tomorrow: Carrot Cake Cupcakes. 

dsc02468

dsc02472

 

 

 

 

 

 

I made these low-calorie by altering the recipe a bit and making a super low-cal icing… they came out to just 100 calories a cupcake and they’re pretty good if I do say so myself (I had to sample one to make sure it was edible 😉 ).  Before I knew it, it was dinner time.  Here’s where those rolls I finally found came into play.  I used 4 Rhodes Texas Rolls, thawed them as instructed on the package, rolled them out and made 4 mini (maybe 6-8 in.) pizzas for the hubbie and I for dinner.  His included turkey pepperoni, but mine was all veg.  I made a regular veggie pizza (tomato sauce, mozzarella, bell peppers, onions, mushrooms, tomatoes) and a white veggie pizza (fat free ricotta, grated Parmesan cheese, and all the same veggies).  They turned out really well!  

 dsc02464

dsc02465

 

 

 

 

 

 

They were on the small side, and they were thin crust, but with all the toppings they were pretty filling.  Plus, they made our house smell like a pizzeria!  I’ll definitely be making these again!  I also had a spinach salad and some more of those veggies in spicy orange sauce on the side (I was REALLY hungry from all that running!).  Before the hubbie left to go back into work, we sampled one of the strawberry shortcakes I’d made earlier in the day for dessert.

 dsc02467

Mine’s the side with the little squirt of fat free redi whip.  These turned out well also (see what I mean by a great food day?)!  Let’s just hope all the food I make tomorrow will go as smoothly as today’s has!  After the hubbie went back to work I whipped up a cream cheese dip for the fruit tray I’m going to assemble tomorrow, cleaned and chopped some of the fruits and veggies that I’ll set out for appetizers, and baked up some of Hungry Girl’s Death By Chocolate Cupcakes from her cookbook.  I’ve made these before and loved them.  Of course, I had to make sure these were edible as well…

dsc02473

dsc02474

 

 

 

 

 

I added a little homemade almond butter on top of one and paired it with some Breyers No Sugar Added Vanilla Ice Cream.  MMMmmmm!  Tomorrow morning the only cleaning I should have to do is the bathroom and dusting the living room.  The hubbie is supposed to be mowing the lawn and cleaning up the kitchen.  The rest of the morning is going to be spent prepping food.  Everyone’s supposed to be here around 1 and I told them we’d eat around 2, so it’s going to be a busy (but fun) morning of cooking!  You’ll see the spread on tomorrow’s post.  Hopefully it’ll be impressive!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

