The Easter Bunny Came!

Wow has it been a busy but wonderful day!  I got up around 8 a.m. and started playing in the kitchen with the intention of stopping for breakfast and to read the paper after just a few minutes… but time got away from me and I never got to!  We had almost a dozen people over for Easter lunch/dinner, so I spent the morning prepping all the food and doing some last minute cleaning.  I did sneak in some of that FABULOUS greek yogurt for a quick breakfast at some point!

 dsc02475

Everyone came over around 1 and we ate around 2.  My grandma brought some ham, my mom brought some turkey and shrimp, and my mother in law brought the deviled eggs… but everything was else was prepared by me!  Here’s what we had:

Appetizers: Fruit tray (strawberries, blackberries, pineapple, watermelon, cantaloupe, and homemade fruit dip), veggie tray (broccoli, cauliflower, bell peppers, grape tomatoes and store bought dill veggie dip), shrimp, deviled eggs, mixed nuts, peanut m&m’s 🙂

Main dishes: Turkey, Ham, Lemon-Garlic Chicken

Sides: Rolls, Frozen Green Beans with almond slivers, roasted sweet potatoes (with salt, pepper, cinnamon, and cayenne), roasted red potatoes (with garlic, salt, pepper, parsley), roasted carrots (with salt, pepper, and parsley), pasta (with my homemade meat sauce which I pulled from the freezer)

Desserts: Carrot Cake Cupcakes, Almond Butter Blondies, Strawberry Shortcake, Hungry Girl’s Death By Chocolate Cupcakes, Mini Chocolate Pudding Pies, Mini Fruit Tarts, Mini Chocolate Dipped Strawberry Tarts

Prepare to drool…

 dsc02476

dsc02477

dsc02478dsc02480

dsc02479   dsc02483

dsc02481dsc02482

 dsc02484dsc02486dsc02485

 dsc02487

I’m quite proud of the spread.  And it all turned out DELICIOUS (as evidenced by the huge plate of food I ate):

 dsc02488

Not picture: a mini chocolate pudding pie and a strawberry shortcake (they were so yum that they jumped in my mouth before they could be photographed!) 😉

After we ate, I opened my gifts from my parents  the Easter Bunny.  I got some new shorts, a fun new card game (which we played soon after), and this new toy:

 dsc02489

I see frozen yogurt and fruit sorbet experimentation in my future!  After everyone had left, I finally sat down for the first time today.  I read a few blogs and did a little searching for some frozen yogurt recipes, but I didn’t find anything I liked, so I may just try mixing up my own creation and see what happens!  Before I knew it, it was 7 and the hubbie came home for dinner.  I was just starting to get hungry then (lunch was just SO huge), but I didn’t know what I wanted.  It took me a while, but I finally decided on:

 dsc02490

dsc024911

 

 

 

 

 

 A HUGE salad (which I’d planned to have hard boiled eggs on… but I guess I undercooked them earlier today, because the first once I cracked open wasn’t quite done!), a piece of garlic toast, and some zucchini with parmesan cheese sprinkled on top and baked in the oven for a bit.  I really wasn’t in the mood for anything heavy for dinner… and this fit the bill quite nicely.  After dinner I realized I’d missed out on having one of these earlier today:

 dsc02496

I’m really happy with how these came out.  The only problem is with the whipped topping in the frosting, I don’t think they’ll freeze well… so I’ve got about 6 more to eat over the next couple of days!  I had a couple more snacks later on including some strawberries mixed in with fruit dip, some chocolate pudding (leftover from the mini pudding pies), and a small serving of vanilla ice cream with some homemade AB.

dsc02497

dsc02499

 

 

 

 

 

ice cream with AB

I also squeezed in a quick yoga for runners session courtesy of Polly at Yoga is Yummy.  I really enjoyed the Frog Foot Pose!  Now I’m relaxing on the couch with my Amazing Adventures of Dietgirl book… thinking of how I should have done work for school tonight, but how that would have ruined such a wonderful day!  There’s always tomorrow!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

