Fun in the kitchen…

My day started off pretty typical…

dsc02535

dsc02532

 

 

 

 

 

A piece of WW toast with Smuckers Sugar Free Orange Marmalade, a microwaved egg white, then a yogurt bowl at school made of *Greek Yogurt* (still swooning over this), blackberries, strawberries and Kashi Puffed and Honey Sunshine cereals.  SO simple and yet SO good!

Here’s what was in the lunch bag:

dsc02531

Morning Snack: Cantaloupe/Watermelon balls.  Lunch:  WW tortilla spread with Laughing Cow Chesse and topped with tomatoes/onions/garlic warmed in the microwave, the last of the Spicy Orange Sauce topped Veggies on the side.

I left right after school and came home and let the puppies out and played with them in the back yard for  bit before catching up on my emails and blogs and consuming some pre-run fuel:

dsc02536

It’s another Choco-nana-berry bowl.  I’m SO loving this combination!  I did 5 miles today and it was super easy since I really didn’t do much yesterday.  I’m supposed to be tapering for Sunday’s half marathon… but (and I know everyone says this) I don’t feel like I need to do a hardcore taper because I’ve been running at this level for so long now.  Oh well.  Everyone has to do what works for them and this is working for me. 

Oh!  Before I forget: Break the Habit Challenge Update: I caught myself putting my fingers in my mouth twice today, but realized it and stopped myself before any damage was done both times… so, so far so good!

After my run I did some experimentation in the kitchen for dinner (AKA I made a BIG mess).  I made a tofu/veggie stir fry with a spicy peanut sauce.  I used a new technique that I found here, to cook and marinate my tofu and modified The Hungry Yogini’s Peanut Sauce (Happy B-day to her by the way!) by using a tsp. of brown sugar splenda instead of honey.  Basically I cooked the tofu, mixed the sauce, stir-fried a bunch of veggies I had on hand (leftover from Easter’s veggies tray) including: celery, onions, broccoli, cauiflower, mushrooms, carrots, bell peppers, then mixed all three things together and dumped it over a serving of pasta.  I really liked how this came out and especially like how the tofu turned out!  I had a nice big bowl for dinner along with the usual spinach salad!

dsc02537

dsc02539

 

 

 

 

 

It took me a while to get all that together!  It was fun though!  Now I’m settling in with my book and snacks for the night:

dsc02468

ice cream with AB

 

 

 

 

 

 

A carrot cake cupcake and some ice cream topped with almond butter.  What a nice way to end the evening!  Only 2 more days ’til weekend!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Fun in the kitchen…

Leave a Reply

